THE Queensland Rugby League (QRL) today announced its Emerging Origin Squad for 2009.

The 14-man Squad includes some of the most impressive young talent in the National Rugby League.

The Squad, which includes five players from the Brisbane Broncos, will join the XXXX Queensland Maroons at various stages throughout next year's Harvey Norman State of Origin campaign.

This move is aimed at providing players from the QAS-backed Emerging Origin Squad with vital exposure to one of the world's toughest sporting competitions.

Queensland Emerging Origin Squad:

Matt Ballin - Manly Sea Eagles
Maurice Blair - Penrith Panthers
Will Chambers - Melbourne Storm
Ashley Graham - North Queensland Cowboys
Ben Jones - Sydney Roosters
Nick Kenny - Brisbane Broncos
Micheal Luck - NZ Warriors
Steve Michaels - Brisbane Broncos
Corey Parker - Brisbane Broncos
Chris Sandow - South Sydney Rabbitohs
Lagi Setu - Brisbane Broncos
Brett Seymour - Cronulla Sharks
David Shillington - Canberra Raiders
David Taylor - Brisbane Broncos
Meanwhile, the QRL today expanded its Board with the appointment of a third Independent Director.

The current two Independent Directors, Terry Mackenroth and Bruce Hatcher, were joined by major Clubs' nominee John Ribot.

Mackenroth is also one of the QRL's four nominations to the ARL Board along with John McDonald, Ross Livermore and Peter Betros.